I just had to point out the major missed point in this NY Times article about Mel Gibson’s arrest the other night:

Is he an anti-Semite? I don’t know. Did he utter anti-Semitic comments? It wouldn’t surprise me. I won’t say I don’t care, because if he did, it makes me think the worse of him.

But not that much worse. The guy was arrested for drunk driving for Pete’s sake! What kind of judgement does this bird-brain have? How has he utterly failed to realize that getting into a car when drunk and driving at twice the posted speed limit is completely unacceptable? And exactly why hasn’t the NY Times picked up on that and made a point out of it. He ‘acknowledged an ongoing battle with alcoholism,’ they say. Is it therefore old news?

Sorry Mel. Unacceptable. Period. And the NY Times should be pointing that out to the reading world too.

