My mother’s obituary ran in the Ottawa Citizen Nov. 7-8. Below is the obituary and some comments from the guest book. Thank you all.

VLAD, Arliss (Nee Weber) After a long [and] cruel illness, Arliss died at home surrounded by her family on November 6, 2006. Arliss is survived by her husband, … and their children … by her brother, Kirk Weber, of Toronto and her sister, Mary Styles, of Carp. She was predeceased by her parents, Jessie and Cliff Weber of Windsor, Ontario and her sister, Joan McAffee, of Syracuse, New York. A memorial service will be held … at the Church of St. John the Evangelist, 154 Somerset Street West, Ottawa. Donations may be made to the Parkinson Society of Ottawa, 1053 Carling Avenue, Ottawa, K1Y 4E9. Grateful thanks to Drs. Louise Coulombe and John Seely, the nurses at We Care, and above all to Melida Aragon, who looked after all of us with competence, compassion and friendship.
Published in the Ottawa Citizen from 11/7/2006 – 11/8/2006.

  Arliss was such a wonderful person — kind and patient. My parents considered Arliss and Peter good friends as well as cousins. I always looked forward to visiting their family … — they hosted great Sunday dinners.
Janice Bradbeer and family
  Janice Bradbeer (Oakville, ON )

  November 8, 2006
So sorry to hear of your loss. Arliss was a wonderful person, the story of how she got her name will live on for generations in my family. My thoughts and prayers are with you.
Jane
  Jane Irvine (Vernon, BC )

  November 7, 2006
Tina and Family
I am so sorry for your loss of your mom (and wife). You are in my thoughts and prayers..Tina I am sending you hugs and warm thoughts.
Rosie
  Rose Centola (Watertown, MA )

  November 7, 2006
Dear Vlad family,
I am so sorry to hear the news of Mrs. Vlad. I will never forget what a wonderful Mom she was to us ALL when we were at school. You all are in my prayers. Love you, Margaret Blickenderfer
  Margaret Blickenderfer (Flemington, NJ )

Addendum: Because my brother is a freak, I’ve edited out some information in this post. If you’ve written or plan to write something here, please don’t be offended if things have been or will be modified. C

Addendum 2: A few more notes.

  November 12, 2006
Dear Peter: Four years ago this very week, Bobbi, Frances and John, Yvonne and Gordon and me (Bev Browne) visited with you and Arliss after having taken Gordon to the Remberance Day ceremony. I know the past years have been difficult ones and I can only hope that it will help you to know that many people are thinking of you and your family and share this sad time with you. Sincerely, Bev Browne
  Beverley Browne (Barrie, ON )

  November 12, 2006
Dr Vlad,sorry to hear of your loss. I know how much your family meant to you.You are in my thoughts and prayers.
  pat corbeil renaud (ottawa, ON )
